What’s in a Blog – Referral Traffic

Get Referral Traffic

Word of mouth is one of the most powerful forces we marketers have on our side.

I used to go through a pair of shoes every two months. I would go to the store and find the cheapest pair of size 14 shoes and wear them to the ground. One day my Uncle said to me, ” You should look into Merrell’s, I got a pair and they are the best shoes I have ever had.”

Merrell’s never were on my radar because they were never under $100 even on the sale racks. But because I trusted my Uncle I decided to give that brand a try. That first pair of shoes lasted me more than 2 years. I have had a pair of Merrell shoes in my rotation ever since. Merrell got a loyal customer of almost 10 years all because someone I knew, liked, and trusted told me he liked his new shoes.

The only thing Merrell did was make a good shoe my uncle liked.

From there my uncle told anyone that needed a new pair of shoes, that he really liked his new Merrell’s.

Can you see how powerful this is?

The need to share is within all of us, we want our friends to have the same good experiences that we are having. A movie we liked, a TV show we enjoyed, a restaurant we ate at. When we have a good experience we shout our praises to anyone that will listen.

All you have to do is give value in all of your content.

This natural human tendency can help you explode your referral traffic. Just like with social traffic, your readers will share your content with their friends, or link to your blog from their blogs or websites when they get value out of it.

As with social traffic, this also has the side benefit of boosting your rankings.

This is part 5 of a 10 part series on blogging.

Ask your most burning question about blogging in the comments section below.

P.S. Always have the unfair advantage. Discover the insider secrets of the home business industry’s top leaders with a monthly subscription to the industry’s leading online magazine What’s Working Now.

Start your What’s Working Now membership subscription today for only $1

Click here to see What’s Working Now

Leave a Reply

