WHY Isn’t Everyone Blogging – Time

What is so special about time?

There is a thought out there that everyone has the same amount of time in the day. This is true, but it really does nothing to help you understand that time is there when you need it.

What does that mean?

Well, I seem to always have enough time to hear what my daughter has to say, no matter how long her story is, I have the time. 10 minutes, 20 minutes, it doesn’t matter. I will always give my girls time. My time is not taken from one thing to give to another.

Just because my daughter had a long story does not mean that I lost 20 minutes at some other part of my life. If you feel like being technical that is what happened, but really there is so much that happens in our lives that really don’t matter, if we cut just a few we suddenly have extra time.

I found that there were times that I would walk into the kitchen hungry. On the way to the kitchen I usually already think that I would like a banana or an apple. I would stand in front of the refrigerator gazing into the cool food for minutes, only to leave with the banana or apple that I knew I wanted.

I noticed that I was spending some of my time on something that meant nothing and I cut it out of my day. I walk to the kitchen, I grab the snack that I want and I leave. No more standing around in front of the refrigerator cooling down the kitchen.

Blogging is not all that time consuming. Do it enough and you will spend no time at all writing a blog post or recording a video. 5 minutes here 10 minutes there. If you find that you have a large block of time, knock out a bunch of videos or blog posts. If you can only find 5 extra minutes a day, so be it. Reflect that time in your blog.

A five minute video can have just as much impact as a 20 minute video. There may be more impact because your reader/viewer may have the same time constraints as you. There is not a need to write the next great American novel in each of your blog posts. Put an idea to word so that someone can understand it. If you need a long post to get your idea out do a long post, or break it into segments and make a series of short posts.

Don’t have the time? That’s crazy.

 

This is part 1 of a 5 part series on blogging excuses.

Ask your most burning question about blogging in the comments section below.

P.S. Always have the unfair advantage. Discover the insider secrets of the home business industry’s top leaders with a monthly subscription to the industry’s leading online magazine What’s Working Now.

Start your What’s Working Now membership subscription today for only $1

Click here to see What’s Working Now

Leave a Reply

